It’s good to talk. To adults. 

16 Apr

How many  people have you spoken to today? Had a chat with? Exchanged pleasantries or had a moan? Talked about Game of Thrones or footy or traffic or weather? 

I’ve spoken to my children, one friend and to my husband.  That’s it.  I said hello to nursery staff at pick up time.  I said thanks to a lady at the supermarket self service till (not  sure why, she just stood there) and that’s the grand total of today’s conversational action. 

Oh I did shout at a cockwomble van man for driving like an arse, but I don’t think we’ll dwell on that.  

Being at home with small kids can be lonely.   Ironically my spellchecker kept trying to change  that to ‘lovely’. Ha. No. 

With my first child I had the freedom of going to all  the baby groups and classes I wanted, unimpeded by the needs and demands of a child 2 years older. Now, I don’t really know many people with a baby the same age.  There are few activities that happily placate my 1 year old and my 3 year old simultaneously.  Everything is hard work.  Taking my one year old to friends houses just seems rude, what with the inevitable path of destruction or vomit he will leave in his wake.   Parents of older kids forget very quickly what it’s like to host what is essentially a tiny, drunk, impulsive, unreasonable midget, hellbent on Smashing Shit Up, grabbing cables, eating cat food or doing irreparable damage to himself or their stuff.  

Yes.  The baby, who has been a joy, is now a git.  A screeching, stropping, flailing beast.  That’s a bit unfair.  He’s only really a Beast when he can’t do exactly what he wants.   He is happiest flirting with mortal danger or self-maiming endeavours, dismantling stuff, eating paper or sticking his tongue into the charging port of my iPhone.  Needless to say, he hears “No!” more than he’d like.  

I work part time so I’m not really a SAHM, but I kind of feel I have the worst of both worlds.  Not only do I have the domestic drudgery of constant childcare and chores, I also have the stress of working and the associated child related logistics of such.  I need to fit my work around my clients, my childcare and my husband. I don’t have the luxury or making it convenient for me. I sometimes work evenings after 13 hours of child wrangling.  Ouch.  

And it Never Ends.  I do only work  a few hours a week (as a private therapist) along with mostly looking after my kids and doing the lions share of domestic crap like laundry, grocery shopping and cooking.  The weekend is the same but with my husband helping out with kids. I’m still doing the same old shit. It’s relentless.  

Among my friends the phrase This Too  Shall Pass is often given as reassurance during tough times.  I’m now living in more of an It Never Ends kinda place.  

I appreciate this is a bit of a woe is me post. Sorry about that.  I need to go to bed now as the only time I get to go for a run (or plod and lurch like a fat semi-lame wildebeest) is by getting up at 5.45am.  Really.  

What’s the moral of this post?  Engage with your mum  friends.  The only other conversations she might’ve had today were probably  about poo or Pom Bears.  

  

2 Responses to “It’s good to talk. To adults. ”

  1. nicolekirk April 17, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

    Lovely to catch up on your news!

    Nachos and wine very soon I promise!!! I enjoyed the wobble home last time….*hic*

    Mwahs
    X

Leave a Reply

